top of page

Our Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

Why I Started to Blog.

I have been to several hospitals, trying to find a medical diagnosis and effective treatments for my illness. It was exhausting for my family and me– traveling to different states for different medical opinions. Life had suddenly taken a turn, which we were unprepared for, and it felt like I was losing control of the life I had planned for myself. On top of that, I entered my junior year at a new high school after recently migrating. Being a Trinidadian, the culture shock was so intense that I felt alienated. Not to mention, I was constantly ill, dealing with hearing loss, and was absent from school way too often. Sometimes, my classmates would question my absence, and I stumbled on words to explain. Though I was an attentive student, I looked forward to the end of the school day. When I got home, I would beg my mom not to send me back. It broke her heart, but she tried to encourage me that things would get better. So each day, I strolled through those school halls like a ghost, waiting for the better to happen, but it never did. For most of those years, I was in physical pain, cried all the time, and hated all the changes that complicated my life.


In the last quarter of my senior year, I became hospitalized. The pain was unbearable, making it impossible to walk. I was also suffering from high fevers and swelling. The road to graduating became blurred as everyone was preparing for finals. Thankfully, I had the most accommodating teachers who sent me school packets to finish the year (consisting of class lessons and homework). They were determined I graduated, and I even got accepted into college.

While planning for the life of college, I also wanted to work at an entry-level job, but my bodily pains and hearing fluctuated, resulting in a different college and life experience. I resorted to online classes, giving up everything else deemed impossible with my health condition. Inevitably, a sense of hopelessness overwhelmed me as I had no social life. I was home all day and night on my computer, focusing on college assignments only.


One day, I began doing random things to fill the void of letting go of my other dreams. I was always interested in something different: drawing, photography–whatever I thought I would be good at. That's when I recognized my passion for writing. Whenever I was down, I would escape by writing a song or a poem, easing my pain temporarily. Funny enough, I started writing songs at age twelve when I thought I could be the next Hannah Montana. Coincidence, or was this my calling from the get-go?




An incident happened recently, and I saw life through a different lens. God didn't forget me, though sometimes it felt like He did. I realized He was preparing me for all the good things He would bless me with in His time. My job is to TRUST in Him and BELIEVE that everything will be okay. During what seemed like the worst thing to happen, He strengthened my family, showed me what a supportive boyfriend looked like, and did many other things I am grateful for. So though I stumbled across a rocky path, I became stronger, saw my potential, and decided to share my story. It took a lot to get where I am now, but I am happy and stronger than ever.


So to my dear readers, whatever the change you may be experiencing, know that it isn't the end. Be hopeful, and prepared, and be ready to EXECUTE your role in life. I just began blogging, yet the excitement I feel is sensational. So I challenge you to "Be Brave!" Something amazing awaits.


bottom of page