top of page

Our Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

Silent World

It has been a month since I've also lost hearing in my right ear. Although it is not certain, I have been coping with life from another perspective. SILENCE. Full-blown and utter SILENCE. I kinda like it. As an introvert, this has become an opportunity to CONNECT with myself mentally. No music. No movies. Not much verbal communication. Just me, myself, and my thoughts. I am HUMBLE.

Walking or traveling on the bus has been unexpectedly interesting the couple of days. I find myself thinking more about ways to improve my life, appreciating the scenery, or planning the days ahead. Ever since cell phones are continuously advancing, it has been the prime focus in our daily lives, and we ignore our surroundings. However, I had to give up on my headphones, and be aware of everything around me.

The very first time I lost my hearing, it was really depressing. Communicating with others became troublesome, and I developed a habit of pretending to understand what people were saying to me. Sometimes it worked toward my advantage, like disregarding sweet talk on the streets, but other times it was a nuisance. As a result, I declined invitations to hang out with family or friends because I often felt omitted in group conversations.

 

I've learnt that this is an unhealthy way to live. No one should disconnect themselves from the world. I am not alone. There are numerous people who are hearing impaired, and others who were born deaf—unable to speak. Therefore, I chose to accept my impairment knowing that I have four other senses, and that is better than having none at all.

bottom of page