top of page

Our Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

Best friend

Five years later, and we finally saw one another again. I was afraid because we both have grown and experienced life from a different edge, and I knew that I have changed particularly. I thought we would have to start all over again, almost like strangers meeting for the first time (AWKWARD).

A week before she came, I felt like postponing her trip because I lacked the confidence of not being able to interact with her normally. I knew she didn't care how we did, but there was a voice telling me, "you're different now, it's not gonna be the same." Thankfully, another friend of mine helped me worry less about my physical state, and focus on how happy I am to reconcile with my best friend of almost ten years.

The day I saw her, everything suddenly felt dreamlike. Nothing appeared real because of the excitement consuming us. The first few days were like that, so we spent it catching up on life and understanding each other's passions. We talked a lot, cried, but most of all laughed every day. There's no one in this world who makes me laugh as much as her.

As days went by, our enjoyment heightened. We bought wines, went to restaurants and bars, watched multiple movies, and even spent the night at a hotel. We did all we could do in two weeks.

As it was coming to an end, we were taken to a Soca/Reggae party. Now neither of us had been to a party in a really long time, so we were 'lit'. We danced the whole night into the morning, and met new people which led to another party the following day. "We were the life of the party," we were told.

It was euphoric—her visit. To think that after five years we reconnected as if we were never really apart. Our friendship travelled distance, yet it remained intact. It is unbelievable how much it has grown. We were destined to be in each other's lives and I should always be grateful and cherish the sistership that she has given me. I mean, we should have been blood sisters to begin with, but hey, having someone at heart is better than blood any day. See you soon sis. I love you!

bottom of page